Pin It

Rhode Island Uninsured Motorist Lawyer: Crucial to have Uninsured Coverage

(Here is an excellent Personal Injury Law Article by Mason Rashtian, a California Lawyer, from The Mason Law Firm concerning the importance of Uninsured/Underinsured  Motorist Coverage. In Bold I have highlighted the instances in which Rhode Island Law is different)

California law requires that all motorists carry automobile liability insurance.  However, this law often gives motorists a false sense of security, resulting in motorists declining to carry uninsured motorist coverage which could come back and haunt them when an accident occurs.  Here are some reasons why it is important to carry uninsured motorist coverage:  Uninsured Motorist Claim Attorneys

Although motorists are required to carry automobile liability insurance, there are still those who do not.  So, if you get into an accident with such a motorist and you do not have uninsured motorist coverage, your only option is to sue the other motorist and go after his or her personal property, if there is any.  Chances are if the other motorist could not afford to purchase liability insurance, he or she will not have any personal property for you to go after.

Further, limits for satisfying the requirements of carrying liability insurance is very minimal.  A motorist meets this requirement by carrying $15,000 in coverage (under some exceptions, it may be as low as $10,000). ( Editor Note: 25,000 in Rhode Island  with no exceptions see RIGL 31-31-7 below) This means that if you are injured in an accident, the insurance for the other motorist is limited to $15,000 which will not cover you if you are involved in a serious accident.  Uninsured motorist coverage generally protects in cases of underinsured motorists as well as uninsured motorists.  So, if you get into an accident with a negligent motorist who is carrying liability coverage amounts that are less than your policy limits and the other motorist’s policy limits are not enough to cover you for your losses, you can seek compensation through your uninsured motorist coverage.

Uninsured motorist coverage may also provide coverage if you or a family member, as a pedestrian, are struck by an .

Finally, uninsured motorist coverage applies in cases of hit-and-run accidents. If you are involved in hit-and-run accident and have uninsured motorist coverage, by sure to report the accident immediately to your insurance company and to law enforcement personnel.  Also, be sure to review your policy regarding the steps you need to take in such a scenario.

Uninsured motorist coverage is generally inexpensive, but its benefits can be invaluable.  This article strictly talks about California law.  Laws in other states may differ. This article is for educational purposes only and is not meant to serve as legal advice. You should always contact an attorney to discuss any legal matter.

Mason Rashtian is the owner/partner of The Mason Law Firm, specializing in personal injury matters, including, but not limited to accidents, slip and falls, dog bites, electrocutions, food poisoning, and defective products.  He represents clients throughout the State of California.  For more information, go to http://www.mrscvlaw.com

Rhode Island Law:

§ 31-31-7  Requirements as to policy or bond. – (a) No policy or bond shall be effective under § 31-31-6 unless issued by an insurance company or surety company authorized to do business in this state, except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, nor unless the policy or bond is subject, if the accident has resulted in bodily injury or death, to a limit, exclusive of interest and costs, of not less than twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) because of bodily injury to or death of one person, in any one accident and subject to the limit for one person, to a limit of not less than fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) because of bodily injury to or death of two (2) or more persons in any one accident, and if the accident has resulted in injury to, or destruction of, property to a limit of not less than twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) because of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident.

(b) No policy or bond shall be effective under § 31-31-6 with respect to any vehicle which was not registered in this state or was a vehicle which was registered elsewhere than in this state at the effective date of the policy or bond or the most recent renewal thereof, unless the insurance company or surety company issuing the policy or bond is authorized to do business in this state, or if the company is not authorized to do business in this state, unless it shall execute a power of attorney authorizing the administrator of the division of motor vehicles to accept service on its behalf of notice or process in any action upon the policy or bond arising out of the accident.

(c) The division of motor vehicles may rely upon the accuracy of the information in a required report of an accident as to the existence of insurance or a bond unless and until the division of motor vehicles has reason to believe that the information is erroneous.

Legal Notice per Rules of Professional Responsibility: The Rhode Island Supreme Court licenses all lawyers and attorneys in the general practice of law, but does not license or certify any lawyer / attorney as an expert or specialist in any field of practice. While this firm maintains joint responsibility, most cases of this type are referred to other attorneys for principle responsibility.

 

 

 

One Response to “Rhode Island Uninsured Motorist Lawyer: Crucial to have Uninsured Coverage”